Crowe Soberman Award

The Crowe Soberman Award

In 2016, Crowe Soberman LLP established the Crowe Soberman Award awarded annually at the FDRIO AGM in November to a professional that works in family dispute resolution:

Contribution to the Field of FDR
Mentoring other professionals, teaching, professional writing and projects that enhance the field of family dispute resolution.

Advocacy for Innovation and Systemic Change in FDR
Demonstrated leadership, vision, and creativity in improving access to justice for
resolving family conflicts. Recipients may be involved in practice or legislative reform, a special event, unique project, research, public education, teaching, writing or professional practice.

Support of Vulnerable Clients
A significant contribution to ensuring safety and equity for vulnerable family members through research, teaching, advocacy, or professional leadership.


Nominations are open for the 2023 Crowe Soberman Award. Please make your nomination by August 15 by using the form below:

* Please explain how the person you are nominating meets the criteria for the Crowe Soberman award

Past Crowe Soberman Award Recipients

2016     Chris Bentley

2017     Dr. Barbara Fidler

2018     Thomas Dart

2019     Dr. Rachel Birnbaum

2020     Hilary Linton

2021     Lorne Wolfson

2022 Award Recipient

At last years Annual General Meeting we honoured Antoinette Clarke for her dedication and significant contribution to family dispute resolution.

Antoinette is a strong advocate for the growth and development of emerging FDR professionals. In particular, she works closely with Humber College as a member of the Program Advisory Committee for the ADR Graduate Certificate Program. She also provides students with meaningful and practical internships at Peel Family Mediation Services. Annually, Antoinette hosts a very popular domestic violence symposium which provides students with valuable learning and networking opportunities.

Antoinette is an adjunct professor with York University Course Director with the school of Social Work, York University. She delivers teachings and trainings in such areas as Family Mediation, Domestic Violence, Oppression, and Intersectionality. Antoinette is currently the Executive Director and board member for Peel Family Mediation Service which oversees court-based services at the Brampton and Orangeville Family Courts. She is a Certified Comprehensive Family Mediator, (FMC/OAFM) Child Protection Mediator.

Antoinette is the co-author of a paper for Justice Canada entitled Newcomers to Canada: Viewing the Impact of Family Violence on Newcomers to the Region of Peel, Ontario through Interlocking, Intersectional and Ethno-Cultural Lens: Best Practices for Screening for Family Violence and Supporting Victims in a Trauma-Informed Manner. She also coauthored a book chapter entitled ‘Restorative Justice-based mediation for elder abuse among ethno-racial minority seniors in Diversity and Aging Among Immigrant Seniors in Canada: Changing Faces and Greying Temples(ed) Douglas Durst and Michael MacLean.


M.S.W., B.S.W., Grd.Dip. Soc.Adm
Consultant | Mediator | Trainer